Tue, Sep 10 | Berkeley Hall Golf Club

Players AM Golf Tournament (1)

Registration is Closed
Players AM Golf Tournament (1)

Time & Location

Sep 10, 2019, 9:00 AM – 1:00 PM
Berkeley Hall Golf Club, 366 Good Hope Rd, Okatie, SC 29909, USA

About the Event

The 20th annual Players Amateur will take place at Berkeley Hall Club’s South Course July 9-14. The Players Amateur is known as one of the premier amateur events in the United States. All participants will be competing for a sponsor’s exemption into the 2020 RBC Heritage Presented by Boeing, South Carolina’s only PGA TOUR event.

Many Players Amateur past participants and champions have become successful on the professional level including 2019 RBC Heritage Champion C.T. Pan.  Wesley Bryan, Brooks Koepka, Brian Harman, Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler, Lucas Glover, Matt Kuchar, Justin Thomas, Camilo Villegas and Bill Haas are a few other well-known Players Amateur alumni to win on the PGA TOUR.

Contestants will begin registration on July 9th and the Contestant-Amateur Shootout will take place on July 10th. The shootout is open to anyone who would like to be a sponsor. Playing information is available on www.playersam.com.

This year’s outstanding field is headed up by defending champion John Augenstein. Augenstein is a rising senior on Vanderbilt’s golf team and his Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking is #12. He also competed in the 2019 RBC Heritage.

Four others in the field are ranked in the Scratch Players World Amateur top ten. Chun An Yu from Arizona State is #1, Duke’s Alex Smalley is #6 and John Pak from Florida State is #9.

There are six countries represented in the field. Golfers from Australia, Canada, South Africa, Taiwan, South Korea and Japan will all compete for a chance to play in the 2020 RBC Heritage.

Locals can come out to the free event to cheer on the four locals that will be competing. Hilton Head Island natives include Andrew Orishak who plays for the University of Virginia, Jonathan Griz who is the Carolina Junior Boys Player of the Year and Daniel Azallion who is the 2018 SC Junior Champion and will start at Virginia Tech in the fall. Bluffton’s Drew Weary plays for High Point University.

The competition rounds begin July 11th. The tournament is open to the public and admission is free.

Share This Event